Lancaster, California (CNN) — Nancy Brizendine’s slow-paced life in Californias Antelope Valley has become something of a slick race track.The first stunner, at 42 years old, in her 11th year of taking birth control pills, was that Brizendine and her live-in boyfriend and fishing buddy were expecting a baby.

I was shocked. I didn’t even think I could get pregnant, Brizendine said.But concern over having a baby in her 40s soon gave way to the joy of becoming a mother for the third time.Then, about 2½ weeks ago, came another sudden turn. Brizendine, a medical assistant, caught the H1N1 flu virus.

pregnant.h1n1

Nancy Brizendine, 42, and her daughter Kayla Yost, 22, are both pregnant and had H1N1.

I had a cough, sinus infection, infected ear, fever, and thats when I went into urgent care and tested positive, Brizendine recalled.There were times when I honestly could not get out of bed because I was so sick and achy.Brizendine began worrying about how the swine flu would affect her baby, due in January.

