Dominic_ambrosino

Dominic Ambrosino and his wife Ronnie Sue lost money in Madoff

Bernard Madoff has been given the maximum sentence of 150 years for masterminding the biggest self-confessed fraud in US history.

During a hearing to decide his sentence, ten of Madoff’s victims told the court in emotional terms of the affect the $65bn (£40bn) crime had had on their lives.

TOM FITZMAURICE

He stole from the rich. He stole from the poor. He stole from the in-between. He had no values.His was a violent crime without the use of a tangible weapon.My life will never be the same. I am financially ruined and will worry every day about how I will take care of my wife.

CARLA HIRSCHHORN

Life has been a living hell. It feels like the nightmare we can’t wake from.

MIRIAM SIEGMAN

The man sitting in this courtroom robbed me. He discarded me like road-kill.Forgiveness for now will have to come from someone other than me.

SHERYL WEINSTEIN

I was introduced to Bernard Madoff 21 years ago at a business meeting. I now view that day as perhaps the unluckiest day of my life. This beast who I call Madoff. He walks among us. He dresses like us… but underneath the facade is a true beast.He is an equal-opportunity destroyer.

DOMINIC AMBROSINO

I can remember the exact second my wife told me the news. The fall-out from having your entire life savings robbed from right under your nose is like nothing you can describe.

